Through the desert on a truck with no name …

1 December Palm springs CA to Green Valley AZ.

Got up at 8:00 although I had wanted to get up earlier to do my laundry. I must be more tired than I think, or it was the LA traffic that did me in. Had breakfast at the hotel, did the laundry and left Indio around 11:00AM.

I-10 in the desertDesert scenery all the way except around Blythe CA where there is some agriculture. I saw my first saguaro cactus just after I crossed the Colorado River into Arizona. I took a lot of pictures of saguaros. Here is this icon of the western desert, seen in innumerable cowboy flicks and cartoons.

The second one was taken from far. I thought og getting closer, but then I thought; “Hmmm, desert, rattlers, scorpions, maybe not a good idea”. Grizzlies I can deal with, you see sign, you hear them and generally can see them coming, but those small poisonous critters, I don’t know.

ratty 1st saguaro

ratty 1st saguaro

classic saguaro

classic saguaro

No lunch stop: I survived on fruits and nuts left over from yesterday. I took the highway 95 bypass to Gila Bend on I-8 to avoid the rush hour traffic around Phoenix (Is there a rush hour in Phoenix? I don’t know but did not want to repeat the LA & SF experiences.) Turned off on I-19 towards Nogales around Tucson.

On I-19, I did a double take as I saw a road sign in kilometers, but the speed limits are still in mph.

I arrived in Green Valley around 7:30 PST, went for supper at an American restaurant (pot roast with corn and mashed potatoes, washed down with a Sam Adams) and checked in to the hotel where I had an interesting conversation with the desk person.

Driving in the States

I didn’t realize how thoroughly metrified (metricated?) I had become until this trip. I had to convert distances back into kilometers and speed into kph. Same for temperatures. Overall, it seems that Americans are slow drivers, generally respecting speed limits (always with some exceptions), unlike Canadians who tend to drive 10-15kph above the limit. They are also polite; I never got honked at once, except as a thank you after I let someone pass in the curvy Highway of the Redwoods. However, the rush hour driving around LA was just as crazy as Montreal, with some people trying to create an additional lane. In Montreal, it doesn’t bother me as I usually know where I’m going, but I did miss an exit around Riverside. Also, Americans do not see that the left lane is for passing and the right for driving: they will take any lane to pass you.

I have to say that the sanest expressway drivers are—believe it or not—in Italy where they drive at crazy speeds (speed limit is 130kph (80mph), so the minimum speed is 140kph (87mph) except for the trucks who drive at 100-110). But they stay in their lane, signal that they are about to pass by flashing their high beams, signal when they change lanes (suicidal motorcyclists excepted). The calmest heavy traffic driving I ever did in an urban area was around Rome, where everyone was driving at 130-140!

Mañana México!

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Through the desert on a truck with no name …”

  1. lil Says:

    mmmm. those crazy Italian drivers rival Kiwi drivers. I must say Luigi we could say you saved our lives from the motorcycle maniac in Florence. Simon would feel right at home. I love reading about your travels and the small details are a good laugh. Enjoy and keep on writing.

  2. Bill Says:

    The wooddorking stuff is really interesting, the redwoods are amazing, your tour of the vineyard, the people, the desert etc… etc…. Can’t wait to see you and talk about your adventure.

    BTW, when do you expect to meet-up with Marilyn at Sophie’s place in Cancun?

  3. Luigi Says:

    To Lil: we , wouldn’t have died, but the motorcyclist sure would have if I had not managed to avoid him.

    To William: In theory, I should have met with Marilyn in Cancun on sunday the 6th. Ain’t gonna happen as I writing this from Morelia, 1300 kms away on Sunday night with my truck with a broken u-joint on the driveshaft. I suppose I could have ductaped it up and driven in front-wheel drive, but I decided to get it fixed. By the end of this trip, i figure I’ll have a brand new truck.

Leave a comment